SMMC* is an autonomous non-governmental organization. The foundation consists of two bodies, the Board of Directors and the Supervisory Council. The responsibility for the daily management lies upon the Board of Directors while the responsibility of the Supervisory Council spans supervising the organization strategy and general developments of the hospital.


*On November 30th, 2018, SMMC adopted new Statutes of Incorporation and will officially continue as Foundation St. Maarten General Hospital (SMGH) as it transitions towards becoming the new General Hospital of St. Maarten. The construction project for the new hospital is slated to be completed in 2023 (with the main building being ready for move in by the end of 2022). The organization will continue doing business as St. Maarten Medical Center (SMMC) until the physical transition to the new hospital has been completed or until further notice.

Supervisory Council of St. Maarten Medical Center:    


Robert-Jan James


Jim Rosen 

Council member

Luz Marie Tuitt

Council member 



Board of Directors of St. Maarten Medical Center:


Kees Klarenbeek

Chairman Board of Directors     

Dr. Felix Holiday

Medical Director

Marco Meuleman

Chief Financial Officer 


Management Team of St. Maarten Medical Center

 Antonio Pantophlet

Manager Patient Care

 Bonnie Dekker

Strategy and Policy

Sheila Hodge

Manager HR, ICT, Archives

Erika van der Horst

Manager New Hospital

Janneke Lok

Legal Counsel